Christmas Spirit

We got through the fourth business trip and managed to have a lot of fun both during and after. We’ve been going out to the Christmas markets and events and the kids grew up overnight. Allison is sweet to Leo even as he starts to grab and pull and slobber on her whenever she comes within reach. the most exciting thing I’ve done was take a daytrip to the Christmas Markets in Bratislava, Slovakia.

ThanksgivingWe started out with a late Thanksgiving two weeks ago Saturday with our friends Jan and Miša, which was really very late since we invited them originally to come two years ago in the US. It’s funny how when you have two kids being left home with just the baby to cook Thanksgiving by yourself seems like “taking it easy.” It was a delicious feast and really remind me how much Vienna feels like ‘home’ now.

Christmas Train

We’ve been enjoying the Christmas markets, especially Karlsplatz, and Allison loves the carousel rides. We also went to an awesome medieval Christmas market at the War History museum, which brought back memories of the day before Leo was born. We are starting to recognize some of the merchants and traders.

Oh hey, I recognize you guys

Oh hey, I recognize you guys

The approach to downtown Bratislava on the X13 bus from the train station takes you past a lot of fanciful architecture. I was really enchanted. The markets aren’t super impressive after Vienna’s, but they are some nice things, wood carvings, beeswax candles and honey wine and pickled cheese seem to be the most authentic items. I enjoyed a grilled cheese sandwich, that is, a round of Brie-like cheese grilled and served with jam and hot wine. Leo loved the nativity scene with real sheep. The real joy was in just leaving town and going on an adventure. Allison did fine staying in Kindergarten until 5:00, I was glad I decided to take a little leap and live it up for a day.

Bratislava       Nativity Bratislava

I’ve been enjoying shopping this year thanks to a new system at home that takes off any pressure about getting presents. I’ve been enjoying window shopping even more.

IMG_0332.JPG

Window shopping in Josefstadt

I went to see a Miro exhibition at the Albertina and was pleasantly surprised that they offer a maternity leave discount. I would have benefited from a guide, because I found myself grasping to appreciate the works. Still, I really enjoyed being out and about and thinking about art. I also was inspired by a painting, Ansicht von Vernet-les-Bains, 1925 by the Austrian painter, Oskar Kokoschka, in the permanent collection that makes me want to paint AND go to Vernet-les-Bains in France.

In the meantime, we’ve been doing Christmas crafts, making cookies and singing songs — getting into the holiday spirit. Hope you are too!

Standard

Leave a comment